Juilcat Plus Access Instructions: Juilliard Extension Division
JUILCAT PLUS DATABASE RESOURCES : DEFINED
- The Juilliard School Library subscribes to several online databases which are available to registered Extension Division students. The databases, listed under the umbrella title Juilcat Plus, include streaming audio and video resources, electronic books and scores, and reference tools across a range of disciplines that include music, dance, drama and general subject areas. Instructions on how to access these databases for registered Extension Division students are below.
LIBRARY USAGE FEE : NECESSARY FOR JUILCAT PLUS PRIVILEGES
- In order to gain the right to access the Juilcat Plus databases, it is necessary to pay a Library Usage fee of $40.00, non-refundable. Payment of this fee also allows the Extension Division student to check out circulating Library materials. The fee should be paid to the Extension Division at the time of registration or beginning of the semester.
ACCESSING JUILCAT PLUS
When you first access a Juilcat Plus database link, you will be presented with the login form shown above. Click the lower bar marked "Library Login (Extension Division Students). The site will then present the following accordion login screen:
Enter the following information:
- To access the Juilcat Plus databases, you must have a Juilliard ID card with a Library barcode attached, or if you are an online-only student, you must have a barcode number provided to you by the Library. This is a barcode that begins with the digits 25204.... When you click a Juilcat Plus database that you would like to search, please enter the following information:
- Your Library barcode number (without spaces).
- To use Juilcat Plus, you will need a PIN. This is a personal password that should contain 6-8 characters and include at least one capital letter, one number and one special character. If you do not already have a PIN, enter your barcode number and enter an asterisk in the PIN field. Click the "SUBMIT" button. The system will then prompt you to change your password, which is your PIN. Enter your chosen PIN, type it again to confirm, and once more, click "SUBMIT." You should now have access to the Juilcat Plus databases. When you return to Juilcat Plus, you will only need to enter barcode and the PIN you chose in the last step.
RESOLVING ISSUES
- If at any time you encounter difficulties access Juilcat Plus, please try clearing your browser's cache completely ("browsing history"). This usually resolves access issues.
FORGET YOUR PIN?
- If you forget your PIN and you are unable to create a new one using the "Reset your PIN?" link at the bottom of the Extension Division Students Juilcat Plus login form, please contact the Library. Staff can reset your account, which will allow you to create a new PIN.
TERMS OF USE
- Access to Juilcat Plus for Extension Division students that have paid the Library Usage fee is granted on a semester basis. This means that access is available from the first day to the last day of the semester only. To extend Juilcat Plus privileges, it is necessary to be enrolled in at least one Extension class for an additional semester.
