Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Women's History Month : Women in the Performing Arts: MUSIC

Selected resources on women in the performing arts

BOOKS ON WOMEN IN MUSIC

(Recent additions to the collection are highlighted in yellow.)

Adkins Chiti, Patricia. Donne in musica. Roma : Bulzoni, 1982. ML49 .Ad53d

Ammer, Christine. Unsung : a history of women in American music. Portland, OR : Amadeus, 2001. ML49 .Am62u 2001

Appleby, Rosalind. Women of note : the rise of Australian women composers. Fremantle, W.A. : Fremantle Press, 2012. ML49 .Ap52wo

Augustyn, Heather. Women in Jamaican music. Jefferson, North Carolina : McFarland & Company, 2020. ML49 .Au46wo

Austria. Bundesministerium Für Europäische Und Internationale Angelegenheiten. Women/music : Austria. 1st ed. Vienna : Brandstätter, 2009. REF ML66 .W842a

Bailey, Candace. Music and the southern belle : from accomplished lady to Confederate composer. Carbondale : Southern Illinois University Press, 2010. ML49 .B151m

Barnes, Grace. Her turn on stage : the role of women in musical theatre. Jefferson, North Carolina : McFarland & Company, Inc., Publishers, 2015. ML49 .B261he

Beer, Anna R. Sounds and sweet airs : the forgotten women of classical music. London, England : Oneworld Publications, 2016. ML49 .B392so

Berdes, Jane L. Women musicians of Venice : musical foundations, 1525-1855. Oxford : Clarendon Press ; New York : Oxford University Press, 1993. ML165 B451w

Bernstein, Jane A. Women's voices across musical worlds. Boston : Northeastern University Press, 2004. ML49 .W843b

Blanton, Carol Valerie. Outstanding women pianists of the nineteenth and twentieth centuries. 1939. REF ML222.2 B59

Block, Adrienne Fried. Women in American music : a bibliography of music and literature. Westport, Conn. : Greenwood Press, 1979. REF ML73 .B62w

Block, Adrienne Fried, and College Music Society. Committee on the Status of Women in Music. Women's studies/women's status. Cms Report, No. 5. Boulder, CO : College Music Society, 1988. REF ML73 C686w

Boenke, Heidi M. Flute music by women composers : an annotated catalog. New York : Greenwood Press, 1988. REF ML75.5 .B633f

Bourgeois, Anna Stong. Blueswomen : profiles of 37 early performers, with an anthology of lyrics, 1920-1945. Jefferson, N.C. : McFarland, 2004. ML222 .B667b

Bowers, Jane, and Judith Tick, eds. Women making music : the Western art tradition. Urbana : University of Illinois Press, 1986. ML49 .W842 B677w

Brand, Bettina. Komponistinnen in Berlin. Berlin : Musikfrauen, 1987.. REF ML49 .K836b

Brewer, Carolyn Glenn. Changing the tune : the Kansas City Women's Jazz Festival, 1978-1985. Denton, Texas : University of North Texas Press, 2017. ML9.K133 B758ch

Briscoe, James R, ed. Historical anthology of music by wome. Bloomington : Indiana University Press, 1987. ML95.21 .B774h

_____. New historical anthology of music by women. Bloomington : Indiana University Press, 2004.. ML95.21 .N456b

Bristah, Pamela, and Carol Neuls-Bates. Women in music : an anthology of source readings from the Middle Ages to the present. 1st edition. New York : Harper & Row, 1982. ML49 N397w

Burns, Kristine Helen. Women and music in America Since 1900 : an encyclopedia. Westport, Conn. : Greenwood Press, 2002. REF ML49 .W842b

Cantu, Maya. American Cinderellas on Broadway musical stage : imagining the working girl from Irene to Gypsy. Houndmills, Basingstoke, Hampshire ; New York, NY : Palgrave Macmillan, 2015. ML401 .C169am

Christiansen, Rupert. Prima donna : a history. New York : Viking, 1985. ML400 .C463p

Citron, Marcia J. Gender and the musical canon. Cambridge England ; New York : Cambridge University Press, 1993. ML49 C498g

Claghorn, Charles Eugene. Women composers and songwriters : a concise biographical dictionary. Lanham, Md. : Scarecrow Press, 1996. REF ML66 . C519w

Clément, Catherine. Opera, or, The undoing of women. Minneapolis : University of Minnesota Press, 1988. ML400 .C591o

Clifford-Napoleone, Amber R. Queering Kansas City jazz : gender, performance, and the history of a scene. Expanding Frontiers : Interdisciplinary Approaches to Studies of Women, Gender, and Sexuality. Lincoln : University of Nebraska Press, 2018. ML544 .C612qk

Cohen, Aaron I. International encyclopedia of women composers. 2nd edition, revised and enlarged. New York : Books & Music USA, 1987. REF ML66 .C66i 1987

Coleman, Bertram E, and Judith Sebesta, eds. Women in American musical theatre : essays on composers, lyricists, librettists, arrangers, choreographers, designers, directors, producers and performance artists. Jefferson, N.C. : McFarland, 2008. ML49 .W842c

Cook, Susan C, and Judy S Tsou. Cecilia reclaimed : feminist perspectives on gender and music. Urbana : University of Illinois Press, 1994. ML49 .C324c

Cowgill, Rachel, and Hilary Poriss, eds. The arts of the prima donna in the long nineteenth century. New York : Oxford University Press, 2012. ML400 .Ar79co

Cypess, Rebecca, and Nancy Sinkoff, eds. Sara Levy's world : gender, Judaism, and the Bach tradition in enlightenment Berlin. Eastman Studies in Music. Rochester, NY : University of Rochester Press, 2018. ML225.L579 Sa71cy

Dees, Pamela Youngdahl. A guide to piano music by women composers. Westport, Conn. : Greenwood Press, 2002-2004. REF ML75.2 D36g

Drinker, Sophie Hutchinson. Music and women : the story of women in their relation to music. New York : The Feminist Press at the City University of New York, 1995. ML49 .D84 1995

Dross-Krüpe, Kerstin, Agnès Garcia-Ventura, Valeska Hartmann, Marta Ortega Balanza, Kerstin Weiand, and European Social Science History Conference European Social Science History Conference (11th : 2016 : Valencia). Great women on stage : the reception of women monarchs from antiquity in baroque opera. Wiesbaden : Harrassowitz Verlag, 2017. ML400 .G798dr

Dunbar, Julie C. Women, music, culture : an introduction. New York : Routledge, 2016. ML49 .D911wo 2016 and eBook

Ellsmore, Caroline Anne. Verdi's exceptional women : Giuseppina Strepponi and Teresa Stolz. Abingdon, Oxon : Routledge, 2018. ML225.V584 Eℓ59ve 

Dunn, Leslie C, and Nancy A Jones. Embodied voices : representing female vocality in western culture. New Perspectives in Music History and Criticism. Cambridge : Cambridge University Press, 1994. ML49 .Em15d

Emerson, Isabelle Putnam. Five centuries of women singers. Westport, Conn. : Praeger, 2005. REF ML222.5 .Em34f

Enstice, Wayne. Jazzwomen : conversations with twenty-one musicians. Bloomington : Indiana University Press, 2004. ML222 .En79j

Ericson, Margaret D. Women and music : a selective annotated bibliography on women and gender issues in music, 1987-1992. New York : G.K. Hall ; London : Prentice Hall International, 1996. REF ML73 .Er45w

Fleeger, Jennifer. Mismatched women : the siren's song through the machine. New York, NY : Oxford University Press, 2014. ML760 .F624mi

Fontijn, Claire, ed. Uncovering music of early European women (1250-1750). New York : Routledge, Taylor & Francis Group, 2020. ML49 .Un1fo

Gardner, Abigail. Ageing and contemporary female musicians. New York : Routledge, 2020. ML49 .G171ae

Geffen, Sasha. Glitter up the dark : how pop music broke the binary. Austin : University of Texas Press, 2020. ML545.P819 G272gℓ

Gillett, Paula. Musical women in England, 1870-1914 : "encroaching on all man's privileges". 1st edition. New York : St. Martin's Press, 2000. ML49 .G413m

Glickman, Sylvia, and Martha Furman Schleifer. From convent to concert hall : a guide to women composers. Westport, Conn. : Greenwood Press, 2003. REF ML49 .F926g

Gordon, Bonnie. Monteverdi's unruly women : the power of song in early modern Italy. Cambridge, UK ; New York : Cambridge University Press, 2004. ML49 .G653m

Gourse, Leslie. Madame Jazz : contemporary women instrumentalists. New York : Oxford University Press, 1995. ML221 .G744m

Gray, Anne. The world of women in classical music. La Jolla, Calif. : WordWorld, 2007. REF ML49 .G791w

Green, Lucy. Music, gender, education. Cambridge England ; New York : Cambridge University Press, 1997. ML49 .G823m

Groh, Jan Bell. Evening the score : women in music and the legacy of Frédérique Petrides. Fayetteville : University of Arkansas Press, 1991. ML49 G894e

Berdes, Jane L, and Joan Whittemore. A guide to Ospedali research. Annotated Reference Tools in Music, No. 7. Hillsdale, NY : Pendragon Press, 2012. REF ML73 .G942ba

Hadlock, Heather. Mad loves : women and music in Offenbach's Les contes d'Hoffmann. Princeton, N.J. : Princeton University Press, 2000. ML225.Of2 H117m

Hale, Thomas A., and Aïssata G Sidikou, eds. Women's songs from West Africa. African Expressive Cultures. Bloomington : Indiana University Press, 2014. ML188 .W842ha

Hamer, Laura. Female composers, conductors, performers : musiciennes of interwar France, 1919-1939. Abingdon, Oxon : Routledge, 2018. ML49 .H179fe

Handy, D. Antoinette. Black women in American bands and orchestras. 2nd editon. Lanham, Md. : Scarecrow Press, 1998. REF ML49 .H192b

_____. The International Sweethearts of Rhythm : the ladies jazz band from Piney Woods Country Life School. Revised edition. Lanham, Md. : Scarecrow Press, 1998. ML226.In8 H192b 1998

Hayes, Eileen M, and Linda F Williams. Black women and music : more than the blues. African American Music in Global Perspective. Urbana : University of Illinois Press, 2007. ML49 .B561h

Hayghe, Jennifer. A history of women pianists. PhD diss., Juilliard School, 1997. REF ML222.2 H33

Head, Matthew William. Sovereign feminine : music and gender in eighteenth-century Germany. Berkeley : University of California Press, 2013. ML49 .H341so

Heinrich, Adel. Organ and harpsichord music by women composers : an annotated catalog. New York : Greenwood Press, 1991. REF ML75.3 H364o

Hellier, Ruth. Women singers in global contexts : music, biography, identity. Urbana : University of Illinois Press, 2013. ML49 .W842he

Heller, Wendy. Emblems of eloquence : opera and women's voices in seventeenth-century Venice. Berkeley : University of California Press, 2003. ML400.5 .H368e

Henry, Murphy. Pretty good for a girl : women in bluegrass. Urbana : University of Illinois Press, 2013. ML222 .H396pr

Hisama, Ellie M. Gendering musical modernism : the music of Ruth Crawford, Marion Bauer, and Miriam Gideon. New York : Cambridge University Press, 2001. ML221 .H55g

Hixon, Donald L. Women in music : an encyclopedic biobibliography. 2nd edition. Metuchen, N.J. : Scarecrow Press, 1993. REF ML66 .H642w 1993

Howe, Sondra Wieland. Women music educators in the United States : a history. Lanham, Maryland : The Scarecrow Press, Inc., 2014. MT3 .H839wo

Iandoli, Kathy. God save the queens : the essential history of women in hip-hop. New York : Dey Street, 2019. ML545.R181 Ia6go

Jackson, Barbara Garvey. Say can you deny me : a guide to surviving music by women from the 16th through the 18th centuries. Fayetteville, AR : University of Arkansas Press, 1994. REF ML73 .J132s

Jackson, Buzzy. A bad woman feeling good : blues and the women who sing them. 1st edition. New York : W.W. Norton, 2005. ML222.5 .J132b

Jackson, Gale. Put your hands on your hips and act like a woman : Black history and poetics in performance. Lincoln : University of Nebraska Press, 2020. ML539 .J134pu

Jezic, Diane. Women composers : the lost tradition found. New York : Feminist Press at the City University of New York : Distributed by the Talman Co., 1988. ML221 J559w

Johnson, Rose-Marie. Violin music by women composers : a bio-bibliographical guide. New York : Greenwood Press, 1989. REF ML75.4 J636v

Kelly, Jennifer. In her own words : conversations with composers in the United States. Urbana : University of Illinois Press, 2013. ML221 .K297in

Kennerley, David. Sounding feminine : women's voices in British musical culture, 1780-1850. New York : Oxford University Press, 2020. ML49 .K392so

Kenny, Aisling, and Susan Wollenberg. Women and the Nineteenth-Century Lied. Farnham, Surrey : Ashgate, 2015., 2015. ML411 .W842ke

Kiranmayi. Her majestic voice : South Indian female playback singers and stardom, 1945-1955. New Delhi, India : Oxford University Press, 2016. ML407.7 .K63he

Klein, Hermann. Great women-singers of my time. New York : E. P. Dutton, 1931. ML222.5 .K672g

Koskoff, Ellen. Women and music in cross-cultural perspective. Illini Books ed. Urbana : University of Illinois Press, 1989. ML49 W842k

LaMay,  Thomasin, ed. Musical voices of early modern women : many-headed melodies. Abingdon, Oxon : Routledge, 2016 eBook

LePage, Jane Weiner. Women composers, conductors, and musicians of the twentieth century : selected biographies. Metuchen, N.J. : Scarecrow Press, 1980-1988. REF ML49 .L556w

Letzter, Jacqueline. Women writing opera : creativity and controversy in the age of the French Revolution. Berkeley : University of California Press, 2001. ML400.2 .L569w

Locke, Ralph P, and Cyrilla Barr. Cultivating music in America : women patrons and activists since 1860. Berkeley : University of California Press, 1997. ML49 .C899ℓ

Mack, Beverly B. Muslim women sing : Hausa popular song. Bloomington : Indiana University Press, 2004. ML675 .M19m

Macleod, Beth Abelson. Women performing music : the emergence of American women as classical instrumentalists and conductors. Jefferson, NC : McFarland, 2001. ML49 .M225w

Matheopoulos, Helena. Diva : great sopranos and mezzos discuss their art. Boston : Northeastern University Press, 1992. ML222.5 M42

_____. Diva : the new generation : the sopranos and mezzos of the decade discuss their roles. Boston : Northeastern University Press, 1998. ML222.5 .M42din

Mayer, Clara. KOM : Komponistinnen im Musikverlag : Katalog lieferbarer Musikalien. Kassel : Furore, 1996. REF ML73 .M452k

McClary, Susan. Feminine endings : music, gender, and sexuality. Minneapolis : University of Minnesota Press, 2002. ML49 M132f and E-book

McVicker, Mary Frech. Women composers of classical music : 369 biographies from 1550 into the 20th century. Jefferson, North Carolina : McFarland, 2011. ML49 .M254wo

_____.. Women opera composers : biographies from the 1500s to the 21st century. Jefferson, North Carolina : McFarland, 2016. ML49 .M254op

Mender, Mona. Extraordinary women in support of music. Lanham, Md. : Scarecrow Press, 1997. ML49 .M522e

Merchant, Tanya. Women musicians of Uzbekistan : from courtyard to conservatory. Urbana : University of Illinois Press, 2015. ML187.Uz 1 M536wo

Mizrahi, Joan Berman. The American image of women as musicians and pianists : 1850-1900. 1989. ML49 .M699a

Monson, Craig. Divas in the convent : nuns, music, and defiance in seventeenth-century Italy. Chicago ; London : The University of Chicago Press, 2012. ML433 .M759d 2012

Muller, Carol Ann. Musical echoes : South African women thinking in jazz. Durham N.C. : Duke University Press, 2011. ML225.B4377 M912mu

Munro, Hope. What she go do : women in Afro-Trinidadian music. Jackson : University Press of Mississippi, 2016. ML548 .M962wh

Moisala, Pirkko, and Beverley Diamond. Music and gender. Urbana : University of Illinois Press, 2000. ML49 .M972m

Austern, Linda Phyllis, and Inna Naroditskaya. Music of the Sirens. Bloomington: Indiana University Press, 2006. ML49 .M9725a

Naroditskaya, Inna. Bewitching Russian opera : the Tsarina from state to stage. Oxford ; New York : Oxford University Press, 2012. ML400.6 .N167be

Parsons, Laurel, and Brenda Ravenscroft, eds. Analytical essays on music by women composers : secular & sacred music to 1900. Analytical Essays on Music by Women Composers, Volume 1. New York : Oxford University Press, 2018. MT115 .An13pa

_____. Analytical essays on music by women composers : concert music 1960-2000. Analytical Essays on Music by Women Composers, Volume 3. New York : Oxford University Press, 2016. MT115 .An13wo v.3

Pendle, Karin, ed. Women & Music : A History. Second ed. Bloomington : Indiana University Press, 2001. ML49 .W842 P373w 2001 and E-book

Pendle, Kain, and Melinda Boyd. Women in music : a research and information guide. Second ed. Routledge Music Bibliographies. New York : Routledge, 2010. REF ML75.9.W8 .P373w 2010

Peters, Mark A. A woman's voice in baroque music : Mariane von Ziegler and J. S. Bach. Aldershot, Hampshire, England ; Burlington, Vt. : Ashgate, 2008. MT125.B122 P442w

Porter, Cecelia Hopkins. Five lives in music : women performers, composers, and impresarios from the Baroque to the present. Urbana : University of Illinois Press, 2012. ML49 .P833fi

Preston, Katherine K. Opera for the people : English-language opera and women managers in late 19th-century America. New York : Oxford University Press, 2017. ML401 P926opp

Raine, Sarah, and Catherine Strong, eds. Towards gender equality in the music industry : education, practice and strategies for change. New York : Bloomsbury Academic, 2019 ML49 .T65ra

Ray, Marcie. Coquettes, wives, and widows : gender politics in French baroque opera and theater. Rochester : University of Rochester Press, 2020. ML400.2 .R212co

Rediscovering the muses : women's musical traditions / edited by Kimberly Marshall. Boston : Northeastern University Press, 1993. ML49 .R248m

Rodger, Gillian M. Just one of the boys : female-to-male cross-dressing on the American variety stage. Music in American Life. Urbana : University of Illinois Press, 2018. ML401 .R615ju

Roma, Catherine. The choral music of twentieth-century women composers : Elisabeth Lutyens, Elizabeth Maconchy, and Thea Musgrave. Lanham, Md. : Scarecrow Press, 2006. MT124 .R66c

Rutherford, Susan. The prima donna and opera 1815-1930. Cambridge : Cambridge University Press, 2006. ML400 .R933p

_____. Verdi, opera, women. Cambridge ; New York : Cambridge University Press, 2013. MT122.V584 R933ve

Sadie, Julie Anne, and Rhian Samuel. The Norton/Grove dictionary of women composers. 1st American ed. New York : W.W. Norton, 1994. REF ML66 .N821s

Scharff, Christina. Gender, subjectivity, and cultural work : classical music profession. Abingdon, Oxon ; New York, NY : Routledge, 2018. ML760 .Sch17ge

A seat at the piano : ASAP : promoting inclusion in piano repertoire : scores, recordings, leveling. 2020. Online resource

Seddon, Laura. British women composers and instrumental chamber music in the early twentieth century. Farnham, Surrey ; Burlington, VT : Ashgate ; 2013. ML49 .Se27br

Shapiro, Eddie. Nothing like a dame : conversations with the great women of musical theater. New York : Oxford University Press, 2014. ML222.5 .Sh22no

Simonson, Mary. Body knowledge : performance, intermediality, and American entertainment at the turn of the twentieth century. New York : Oxford University Press, 2013. ML401 .Si57bo

Skowronski, JoAnn. Women in American music : a bibliography. Metuchen, NJ : Scarecrow Press, 1978. REF ML75.9.W8 Sk59

Slayton, Michael. Women of influence in contemporary music :nine American composers. Lanham, Md. : Scarecrow Press, 2011. ML49 .W842sℓ

Smart, Mary Ann. Siren songs : representations of gender and sexuality in opera. Princeton Studies in Opera. Princeton, N.J.: Princeton University Press, 2000. ML407.8 .Si77s

Smith, Angela. Women drummers : a history from rock and jazz to blues and country. Lanham, Maryland : Rowman & Littlefield, 2014. ML222.4 Sm51wo

Stern, Susan. Women composers : a handbook. Metuchen, NJ : Scarecrow Press, 1978. REF ML66 .St45w

Story, Rosalyn M. And so I sing : African-American divas of opera and concert. New York : Warner Books, 1990. ML222.5 St76a

Sullivan, Jill M. Bands of sisters : U.S. women's military bands during World War II. Lanham, Md. : Scarecrow Press, 2011. ML389 .Su54ba

Tick, Judith. American women composers before 1870. Ann Arbor, Mich. : UMI Research Press, 1983. ML221 T437a

Topical Guides to Grove Music : Women composers by time period. Grove Music Online, 2018. Electronic resource

Topical Guides to Grove Music : Women composers A to Z. Grove Music Online, 2018. Electronic resource

Tubeuf, André. Lost divas. New York : Assouline, 2005. REF ML222.5 .T79ℓ

Von Glahn, Denise. Music and the skillful listener : American women compose the natural world. Bloomington ; Indianapolis : Indiana University Press, 2013. ML49 .V894mu

Walker-Hill, Helen. From spirituals to symphonies : African-American women composers and their music. Westport, Conn. : Greenwood Press, 2002. REF ML221 .W154f

_____. Piano music by Black women composers : a catalog of solo and ensemble works. New York : Greenwood Press, 1992. REF ML75.2 W154p

Weiermüller-Backes, Isolde. Klaviermusik von Komponistinnen : vom 17. bis zum 21. Jahrhundert : Verzeichnis mit Hinweisen für den Unterricht. Düsseldorf : Staccato Verlag, 2003. REF ML75.2 .W426k

White, Kimberly. Female singers on the French stage, 1830-1848. Cambridge, UK ; New York, NY : Cambridge University Press, 2018. ML49 .W584fe

Wolf, Stacy Ellen. Changed for good : a feminist history of the Broadway musical. New York : Oxford University Press, 2010. ML401 .W832ch

Women of note quarterly : the magazine of historical and contemporary women composers. Pullman, WA : Vivace Press, 1993-. Periodicals

Zaimont, Judith Lang. Contemporary concert music by women : a directory of the composers and their works. Westport, Conn. : Greenwood Press, 1981. REF ML66 Z13c 1981

Zaimont, Judith Lang, Catherine Overhauser, and Jane Gottlieb, eds. The Musical Woman: An International Perspective. The Musical Woman, [Vol I.]  Westport, Conn. : Greenwood Press, 1984. ML49 M973 v.1

Zaimont, Judith Lang, Catherine Overhauser, and Jane Gottlieb, eds. The Musical Woman: An International Perspective. The Musical Woman, Vol II.  New York : Greenwood Press, 1987. ML49 M973 v.2

Zaimont, Judith Lang, Jane Gottlieb, Joanne Polk, and Michael J Rogan, eds. The Musical Woman: An International Perspective. The Musical Woman, Vol III.  New York : Greenwood Press, 1991. ML49 M973 v.3

 

SCORES

At the piano with women composers / edited by Maurice Hinson. Van Nuys, Calif. : Alfred Pub. Co., 1990. 1 H596at Aℓf

Black women composers : a century of piano music (1893-1990) / Helen Walker-Hill, editor. Bryn Mawr, Pa. : Hildegard Publishing, 1992. 1 B568w Hiℓde

Contemporary anthology of music by women / edited by James R. Briscoe. Bloomington, Ind. : Indiana University Press, 1997. ML95.21 .B774c 1997

Frauen komponieren : 22 Klavierstücke des 18.-20. Jahrhunderts = Female composers : 22 piano pieces from the 18th-20th century / herausgegeben von Eva Rieger, Käte Walter. 2. rev. Aufl. = 2nd rev. ed. Mainz ; New York : Schott, 1992. 1 F866ko Schott 1992

Frauen komponieren : 25 Lieder für Singstimme und Klavier = Female composers : 25 songs for voice and piano / herausgegeben von Eva Rieger und Käte Walter. Mainz ; New York : Schott, 1992. 37 F866ko Schott

Historical anthology of music by women / edited by James R. Briscoe. Bloomington : Indiana University Press, 1987. ML95.21 .B774h

Latin American and Iberian art songs by women composers = Canciones artísticas de compositoras ibéricas y latinoamericanas. Vol. 1. Barcelona : Mundo Arts Publications, 2020. 37 L349ca Mundo v.1

New historical anthology of music by women / edited by James R. Briscoe. Bloomington : Indiana University Press, 2004. ML95.21 .N456b

"Una voce poco fa--" : ovvero le musiche delle primedonne rossiniane / Patricia Adkins Chiti. Roma : Garamond, 1992. 37 Un1 Garam

Women Composers Collection. HathiTrust Digital Library. Online resource

Women composers for the harpsichord / edited by Barbara Harbach. Bryn Mawr, Pa. : Elkan-Vogel, 1986. 1 W842co EℓkVog

Women composers : music through the ages / edited by Martha Furman Schleifer and Sylvia Glickman. New York : G.K. Hall, 1996. 0 W842co GKHaℓℓ

Women's Suffrage in Sheet Music​. Library of Congress Digital Collections