Assessing the implications of allowing transgender personnel to serve openly
Bisexuality and the challenge to lesbian politics : sex, loyalty, and revolution. by 
Bodies that matter : on the discursive limits of "sex" by 
The Cambridge companion to American gay and lesbian literature by 
The Cambridge companion to gay and lesbian writing by 
The Cambridge companion to lesbian literature by 
The Cambridge companion to queer studies by 
Changing sex : transsexualism, technology, and the idea of gender by 
Clinical encounters in sexuality : psychoanalytic practice and queer theory by 
The Columbia anthology of gay literature : readings from Western antiquity to the present day by 
Contemporary drag practices and performers : drag in a changing scene. Volume 1 by 
Envisioning global LGBT human rights : (neo)colonialism, neoliberalism, resistance and hope by 
Epistemology of the closet by 
Equality under the constitution : reclaiming the Fourteenth Amendment by 
Everyday revolutions : remaking gender, sexuality and culture in 1970s Australia by 
Freedom to differ : the shaping of the gay and lesbian struggle for civil rights by 
From the closet to the altar : courts, backlash, and the struggle for same-sex marriage by 
Gay artists in modern American culture : an imagined conspiracy by 
The gay revolution : the story of the struggle by 
The Hirschfeld archives : violence, death, and modern queer culture by 
Hidden from history : reclaiming the gay and lesbian past by 
HIV mental health for the 21st century by 
How sex changed : a history of transsexuality in the United States by 
Human rights, sexual orientation and gender identity in the Commonwealth : struggles for decriminalisation and change by 
Hybrid : bisexuals, multiracials, and other misfits under American law by 
#Identity : hashtagging race, gender, sexuality, and nation by 
Intersex narratives : shifts in the representation of intersex lives in North American literature and popular culture by 
The lesbian and gay studies reader by 
Lesbian mothers : accounts of gender in American culture by 
Movement, knowledge, emotion : gay activism and HIV/AIDS in Australia by 
Odd girls and twilight lovers : a history of lesbian life in twentieth-century America by 
Odd couples : a history of gay marriage in Scandinavia by Queer between the covers : histories of queer publishing and publishing queer voices by 
Queer festivals : challenging collective identities in a transnational Europe by 
Queer words, queer images : communication and the construction of homosexuality by 
Reconsidering the emergence of the gay novel in English and German by 
Rereading heterosexuality : feminism, queer theory and contemporary fiction. by 
The Routledge queer studies reader by 
The scene of Harlem cabaret : race, sexuality, performance by 
Trap door : trans cultural production and the politics of visibility by Digitized collections at the New York Public Library: LGBT materials
Making Gay History: the podcast
NYC Trans Oral History Project
Stonewall 50: A Guide Honoring the 50th Anniversary of the Stonewall Riots and LGBTQ History
Databases available online through the New York Public Library system (requires NYPL patron barcode and personal PIN to log in):
Alternative Press Archive (access to full text articles; enter keywords to search)
Archives of Sexuality and Gender
Independent Voices: an open access collection of alternative press
LGBTQ+ Source (access to full text articles; enter keywords to search)
The Making of Modern Law: American Civil Liberties Union papers (access to ACLU records; enter keywords to search)
