LibGuides: Digital scores: About this guide / Library resources

About this LibGuide

This guide provides descriptions and links to selected digital score collections, both those available on subscription via JUILCAT Plus, and those available freely on the web. When searching for scores:

We recommend that patrons always check the library catalog first.
Check through our subscription-based digital resources (linked at right).
Check through a free online collection of digitized scores. Keep in mind that scores that are available freely on the web are public domain scores only, meaning these resources are no longer in copyright. Note that many of these are reprints from nineteenth-century complete works editions that are out of copyright (the same editions that are typically reprinted by Kalmus, Dover, and Masters Music publications).

Reviewed and updated November 5, 2019 by Eric Mortensen.

Subscription-based resources for digital scores

A-R Online Anthology
Contains an extensive collection of newly-engraved music examples from the Middle Ages, Renaissance, and Baroque periods. Users may browse by composer or time period, and print out the scores. Many of the works are presented in their entirety, rather than in excerpt.
Art Song Transpositions
A digital sheet music database of 11,000+ art songs and arias, available for the first time in any key.
Babel Scores
BabelScores is a specialized network in selected quality classical contemporary music. Listen to music, read full scores online, consult or buy scores.
Classical Scores Library
Digital copies of scores, both public domain (pre-1923) and selected compositions that are still titles under copyright. Includes publications from Boosey & Hawkes, Universal, and others. Links also to sound recordings in Classical Music Library database. Vol. 3 builds upon the collections of digital scores found in Classical Scores Library vols. 1 and 2 with works by many contemporary composers.
Henle Library (for iPad)
Henle scores are available in digital form via the Henle Library platform (works on iPad).
LibraryMusicSource
LibraryMusicSource.com provides website access to the collections formerly available on CD Sheet Music, including orchestra parts.
Naxos Sheet Music Library
Downloadable sheet music, with many items offering a transpose option and midi playback.
Newzik (Carl Fischer / T. Presser)
Thousands of Carl Fischer Music and Theodore Presser Publications are available in digital form via the Newzik platform (works on iOS devices).
nkoda
nkoda provides access to an extensive collection of digital sheet music, from hundreds of publishers, including Barenreiter, Boosey & Hawkes, Chester, Faber Music, Novello, and Ricordi. For more information, see FAQ.
Recent Researches in Music Online (RRIMO)
A-R Editions has published Recent Researches in Music—critical performing editions of music in seven series—since its inception in 1962. The series fall into two basic categories: editions that span the history of Western music, and editions with ties to specific cultural milieus. Most editions in Recent Researches in Music are devoted to works by a single composer or in a single genre.