Resources for repertoire: composer diversity: Home

Digital collection from Brown University Library.

A compilation of original works by composers in the African Diaspora. All research associated with this project is owned and presented by Dr. Louise Toppin and Videmus.

Historic and contemporary African American singers and composers of Classical vocal music. Compiled by Randye Jones

A searchable database of composers and works supported by ACO. ACO aims to challenge the stereotypical image of a “composer” by supporting creative artists from North, Central, and South Americas, especially BIPOC, immigrant, women, transgender, and nonbinary artists.

Under "Organ Repertoire Lists," AGO offers bibliographies of organ works by East Asian, Latin American, and Black composers.

This database explores repertoire by underrepresented composers that involves the viola as a significant voice.

The AAP aims to increase awareness of and access to arias by diverse, contemporary American composers and librettists, whose scores remain largely unpublished. This online hub includes arias from works that have recently received their premieres, as well as from operas for which the premieres are forthcoming. At launch, the AAP includes 20 different arias, all available for free download as PDFs for educational and audition purposes. Additional arias will be added to the AAP hub on a regular basis.

This database provides access to thousands of works by women and gender-marginalized composers. By sharing knowledge and resources, BID increases access to works by underrepresented composers, empowering all who wish to diversify classical music programming.

CelloBello offers compiled lists of works for cello by Black, Latin American, women, and 21st century composers.

Dedicated to the promotion of the reputation and works of the composer Joseph Bologne, chevalier de Saint-Georges.

Dissertation: This document aims to address the issue of accessible published works by Black Americans by presenting a current resource of available and ready-to-be- performed symphonic orchestral music by Black American composers.

A collection of music theory examples by women and BIPoC composers. Examples are geared to the undergraduate core sequence. Each example contains a PDF of an excerpt for classroom use, a link to a public domain full score, a recording (when available), and a detailed composer biography.

The Hathi Trust Women Composers Collection consists of digitized sheet music for approximately 3,000 musical works by more than 700 women composers. Most date from the 19th- and early 20th-centuries, with a few pieces from the 18th century.

Database of articles, books, and other resources, searchable by keyword. With coverage up to about 1650, the project places special emphasis on the musical practices and experiences of people who -- often because of their race, geographical origins, gender, disability, or social status -- have been left at the margins of mainstream music histories.

Searchable online catalog containing over 9,000 original orchestral works by over 1,600 composers from 24 countries and territories of Latin America and the Caribbean.

A dictionary of women in music throughout history, including biographical articles. Primarily in German, with some articles also in English.

Music by Black Composers (MBC) was founded in 2001 as a project of the Rachel Barton Pine Foundation, a long-standing, anti-racist organization in classical music. MBC’s mission is to help rectify historic and ongoing racial injustices in the classical music sphere.

Selected Flute Repertoire and Studies is an online database containing repertoire and instructional materials for the flute, searchable by content type, level, instrumentation, and/or composer. It was developed to meet the needs of flute teachers with students ranging from beginners to graduate students.

New Muses Project makes composer recommendations based on composers you already like. This DEI-centered project also includes a chronological timeline of underrepresented composers.

This open-access music data project aims to make works by historically marginalized and un(der)-represented people more discoverable, to decenter the musical canon, and make data-driven music scholarship more diverse and inclusive. The nature of this project is iterative, because it is being used as a way to teach students about transcription and encoding. The repository contains a growing dataset of music incipits and excerpts from a large historical period by an un(der)-represented group (primarily women and people of color) that has generally been left out of (big) data driven scholarship work.

Resounding the Scores is a collection of fifty-five pieces of Chinese instrumental ensemble music associated with the Hong Kong Music Office (HKMO). Featuring arrangements and compositions by Tong Leung-tak, this collection also includes music by Yau Yuen-hing, Kwok Hang-kei, Chen Ning-chi, Ng King Pan, and Law Kin Pong. It showcases not only changes of stylistic trends in Chinese instrumental ensemble music, but also some notable aspects of the Music Office's development since its establishment in 1977.

A Seat at the Piano promotes and advocates for the inclusion, study, and performance of a more equitably representative body of piano works. By creating a resource for musicians, pedagogues, and curious music appreciators, ASAP aims to broaden their knowledge of composers and their works.

The Spirituals Database offers searchable access to recorded track information for concert Negro Spiritual settings performed by solo Classical vocalists. The resource contains a selection from a century of historic and contemporary concert spiritual recordings.

Digital collection from the Library of Congress

WSF is an online forum devoted to women’s voices in song, to the many songs by women, and to the many female musicians working in and with song, who have yet to be given the attention they deserve.