Scores in the Lila Acheson Wallace Library are arranged according to the
Vassar-Dickinson Classification Schedule, listed below in condensed form:
0 Miscellaneous collections, monuments of music, etc.
00 Collected works of individual composers
1-5 PIANO MUSIC (the term "piano" includes all stringed keyboard
instruments)
1 Anthologies of works by several composers
2 Works by individual composers
3 Studies and exercises, teaching pieces
4 1 piano, 4 or more hands
5 2 or more pianos
9 ORGAN
11 LUTE, GUITAR and other plucked strings (other than the harp)
12 HARP
13 PERCUSSION
14 ELECTRONIC MUSIC (and music not classified elsewhere)
15-19 STRING MUSIC (string solos, single string instrument with keyboard
or continuo accompaniment, 2 or more like string
instruments, e.g.: 2 violins)
15 VIOLIN
16 VIOLIN STUDIES and exercises, teaching pieces
17 VIOLA
18 VIOLONCELLO
19 DOUBLE BASS
20 WOODWIND MUSIC (wind solos, single wind with keyboard instrument or
continuo, 2 or more like winds, e.g.: 2 flutes)
20 Mixed collections
20.1 FLUTE, PICCOLO
20.2 RECORDER
20.3 OBOE, ENGLISH HORN
20.5 CLARINET
20.6 SAXOPHONE
20.7 BASSOON
21 BRASS MUSIC (brass solos, single brass instrument with keyboard or
continuo, 2 or more like brass instruments, e.g.:
2 horns)
21 Mixed collections
21.1 HORN
21.2 TRUMPET, CORNET
21.3 TROMBONE
21.4 TUBA
22-25 CHAMBER MUSIC PARTS (for ensembles of solo instruments)
STRING ENSEMBLES
22 Miscellaneous collections
22.2 Duets
22.3 Trios (violin, viola, violoncello)
22.31 Other string trios
22.32 Piano trios (piano, violin, violoncello)
22.33 Other trios for piano and strings
22.4 Quartets (2 violins, viola, violoncello)
22.41 Other string quartets
22.42 Piano Quartets (piano, violin, viola, violoncello)
22.43 Other quartets for piano and strings
22.5 Quintets (all combinations)
22.52 Piano quintets (piano, 2 violins, viola, violoncello)
22.53 Other quintets for piano and strings
22.6 Sextets (all combinations)
22.62 Sextets for piano and strings
22.7 Septets, octets, etc. (all combinations)
22.72 Septets, octets, etc. for piano and strings
WOODWIND ENSEMBLES
23 Miscellaneous collections (including French horn)
23.2 Duets
23.3 Trios
23.32 Trios for piano and woodwinds
23.4 Quartets
23.41 Other quartet combinations
23.42 Quartets for piano and woodwinds
23.5 Quintets (flute, oboe, clarinet, bassoon, French horn)
23.51 Other quintet combinations
23.52 Quintets for piano and woodwinds
23.6 Sextets, septets, etc.
23.62 Sextets, septets, etc., for piano and woodwinds
BRASS ENSEMBLES
24 Miscellaneous collections
24.2 Duets
24.3 Trios
24.32 Trios for piano and brass instruments
24.4 Quartets
24.42 Quartets for piano and brass instruments
24.5 Quintets
24.52 Quintets for piano and brass instruments
24.6 Sextets, septets, etc.
24.62 Sextets, septets, etc., for piano and brass instruments
ENSEMBLES FOR MIXED AND UNSPECIFIED COMBINATIONS
(strings/woodwinds/brass/piano/percussion; for ensembles with
electronic instruments and/or tape see section 14)
25 Miscellaneous collections
25.2 Duets
25.3 Trios
25.4 Quartets
25.5 Quintets
25.6 Sextets
25.7 Septets, octets, etc.
27-28 CHAMBER MUSIC SCORES
27 Large scores (over 23 cm. in height)
28 Miniature scores (23 cm. and under)
31-32 ORCHESTRAL MUSIC (includes string orchestra and band)
31 Large scores (over 23 cm. in height)
32 Miniature scores (23 cm. and under)
34 "FAKE" (i.e., Real) BOOKS (Jazz)
37-41 SONGS (for one or more solo voices)
37 Anthologies of works by several composers
38 Works by individual composers
39 Single songs
40 Vocalises
41 Songs with accompaniment other than keyboard instrument or
continuo; also Melodrama (unstaged)
44-45 DRAMATIC MUSIC (stage works with voice parts; ballets not classed
here unless they include sung or spoken parts)
44 Full scores (large or miniature)
45 Piano-vocal scores
46-47 CHORAL MUSIC
46 Full scores (large or miniature) with accompaniment other
than piano
47 Piano- (or organ-) vocal scores, or unaccompanied voices
52 HYMN BOOKS
53 CAROLS
54 LIBRETTI and other texts of vocal works
56 MUSIC FOR DANCE (in piano reduction)
71-73.72 FOLK SONGS (divided according to the Columbia-Dickinson schedule)
Language, literature, and drama books in the Lila Acheson Wallace Library
are arranged according to a modified Library of Congress Classification
scheme:
LANGUAGE AND LITERATURE
P 1-1091 Philology and linguistics (General)
PA 1-8595 Classical (Greek, Latin) languages and literature
MODERN EUROPEAN LANGUAGES
PB 1-431 General works
1201-3029 Celtic (Irish, Gaelic, etc.) languages and literature
PC 1-1548 Romance (Italian, French, Spanish, etc.) languages
GERMANIC LANGUAGES
PD 1001-1350 Old Germanic dialects
1501-2392 Scandinavian (Icelandic, Norwegian, etc.) languages
PE 1-3729 English language
PF 1-5999 West Germanic (Dutch, German, etc.) languages
SLAVIC, BALTIC, ALBANIAN LANGUAGES AND LITERATURES
PG 1-7925 Slavic (Russian, Ukrainian, Polish, etc.) languages and
literature
8001-9146 Baltic (Lithuanian, Latvian) languages and literature
9501-9665 Albanian language and literature
FINNO-UGRIAN, BASQUE LANGUAGES AND LITERATURES
PH 101-1109 Finnish (Proper Finnish, Estonian, etc.) languages and
literature
1201-3445 Ugrian and Hungarian languages and literature
5001-5490 Basque language and literature
ORIENTAL LANGUAGES AND LITERATURES
PJ 1-2594 Egyptian, Libyan, Berber languages and literature
3001-9293 Semitic (Hebrew, Arabic, etc.) languages and literature
PK 1-6996 Indo-Iranian (Sanskrit, Hindi, eyc.) languages and
literature
8001-9935 Armenian language and literature
9001-9201 Caucasian (Georgian, etc.) language and literature
LANGUAGE AND LITERATURES OF EASTERN ASIA, AFRICA, OCEANIA
PL 1-481 Ural-ALtaic languages
501-889 Japanese language and literature
901-998 Korean language and literature
1001-3207 Chinese language and literature
5001-7511 Oceanic languages and literatures
8000-8844 Aftican languages and literatures
LITERATURE (GENERAL)
LITERARY HISTORY AND GENERAL COLLECTIONS
PN 1-245 Criticism; Authorship
441-1009.5 Literary History
3311-3503 Prose; Prose Fiction
4001-4355 Oratory
4400 Letters
4500 Essays
4699-5640 Journalism
6010-6790 Collections of General Literature
ROMANCE LITERATURES
PQ 1-3999 French literature
4001-5999 Italian literature
6001-8929 Spanish literature
9000-9999 Portugese literature
ENGLISH LITERATURE
PR 1-9680
AMERICAN LITERATURE
PS 1-3576
GERMANIC LITERATURE
PT 1-4897 German literature
5001-5980 Dutch literature
6000-6471 Flemish literature
6500-6592 Afrikaans literature
6600-9999 Scandinavian (Danish, Norwegian, Swedish, etc.)
literature
Works ABOUT drama, rather than DRAMATIC WORKS, are classed in NS, as
follows:
NS 1660-1693 Dramatic composition
1865-1999 Special types of drama (tragedy, comedy, vaudeville,
etc.)
2000-3307 Dramatic representation; the theater (including
management, amateur theatricals, etc.)