This LibGuide provides suggestions for finding violin resources in Juilliard's library. Inside, you will find a curated selection of repertoire guides, encyclopedias, dictionaries, discographies, periodicals, and books on technique, pedagogy, and performance practice. Explore these sections to utilize the resources available to you, and feel free to contact us for further assistance.
compiled by Olivia Buck, July 2025
Louis Persinger, faculty member from 1930 to 1966, teaching in his Juilliard studio. Persinger (1887-1966) studied with Eugène Ysaÿe in Brussels, and was himself was the teacher of Yehudi Menuhin, Isaac Stern, Ruggiero Ricci, Guila Bustabo, and Camilla Wicks. Photo by Eileen Darby, courtesy of Juilliard Archives.
Itzhak Perlman, undated. Photo by Christian Steiner, courtesy of the Juilliard Archives.
Historical Performance students make their stage debut with Monica Huggett (left), December 8, 2009. Back: Juilliard415 ensemble members Liv Heym, Adriane Post, William Frampton. Photo by Jennifer Taylor, courtesy of the Juilliard Archives.
Robert Mann instructs Joseph Puglia at Juilliard, February 28, 2006. Photo by Peter Schaaf, courtesy of the Juilliard Archives. Faculty portrait series 2005/06 #42325.
Stephen Clapp teaching Soo Yeon Kim at Juilliard, December 8, 2005. Photo by Peter Schaaf, courtesy of the Juilliard Archives.
Itzhak Perlman teaching Arnaud Sussmann at Juilliard, April 17, 2006. Photo by Peter Schaaf.
Dorothy DeLay and her student Midori study Wieniawski’s Concerto No. 1, 1986. Photo by Charles Abbott, courtesy of the Juilliard Archives.
Dorothy DeLay playing air violin, ca. 1979. Photo by Evelyn Floret/Black Star for People Weekly, courtesy of the Juilliard Archives. From Delay Papers. Displayed in DeLay centennial exhibit, 2017.
Eugène Ysaÿe and Jeannette Ysaÿe, November 7, 1928. Photo by S.M. La Reine, courtesy of the Juilliard Archives. Verso: "Avenue Brugmann, La chambre a coucher, Photo prise par S.M. La Reine"
Eugène Ysaÿe, April 15, 1922. Photo by Mishkin, N.Y., courtesy of the Juilliard Archives.
Scores and parts
15 Violin
16 Violin studies and exercises, teaching pieces
22 String ensembles -- Miscellaneous collections
22.2 String ensembles -- Duets
22.3 String ensembles -- Trios (violin, viola, violoncello)
22.31 String ensembles -- Other string trios
22.32 String ensembles -- Piano trios (piano, violin, violoncello)
22.33 String ensembles -- Other trios for piano and strings
22.4 String ensembles -- Quartets (2 violins, viola, violoncello)
22.41 String ensembles -- Other string quartets
22.42 String ensembles -- Piano quartets (piano, violin, viola, violoncello)
22.43 String ensembles -- Other quartets for piano and strings
22.5 String ensembles -- Quintets (all combinations)
22.52 String ensembles -- Piano quintets (piano, 2 violins, viola, violoncello)
22.53 String ensembles -- Other quintets for piano and strings
22.6 String ensembles -- Sextets (all combinations)
22.62 String ensembles -- Sextets for piano and strings
22.7 String ensembles -- Septets, octets, etc. (all combinations)
22.72 String ensembles -- Septets, octets, etc. for piano and strings
