All users with a valid TJS I.D. card who meet the checkout requirements above can check out materials from The Tianjin Juilliard Library collection during our open hours. All materials must be properly checked out by a library employee at the Circulation desk on the 4th floor. Before first checkout, please review the policies and allow 10 minutes for setting up your library account.
LOST AND DAMAGED LIBRARY MATERIALS
Lost books, scores, or recordings must be reported at once to the Circulation Desk. The Library will order replacement copies through its own vendors; users should not purchase replacement copies themselves. The charge for lost items is the current replacement cost plus a processing fee. Processing fee will be calculated based on the cost of the items at the time of replacement, shipping cost, staff time, read and review fees by Chinese customs, and plus import tax (13% of the replacement cost).
REPLACEMENT CHARGES WILL RESULT IN A BLOCK OF THE STUDENT’S RECORD WITH THE REGISTRAR. THE STUDENT MAY BE PREVENTED FROM REGISTERING OR RECEIVING A DIPLOMA OR TRANSCRIPT UNTIL THE ITEMS ARE RETURNED OR REPLACEMENT CHARGES ARE PAID.
Please return all checked out materials to the circulation desk staff during the hours the Library is open.
The individual who checks out a work with multiple parts is responsible for returning the entire set intact. Incomplete sets will not be accepted for return. If one or more parts are lost, the borrower will be responsible for the cost of replacing the entire set.
Circulation of media materials (both check out and return) takes place at the main circulation desk. Please request assistance at the circulation desk for access to media materials or to schedule appointments for listening/viewing/use of keyboard stations.
Reference items do not circulate.
LIBRARY MATERIALS MAY NOT BE MARKED OR DEFACED IN ANY WAY. THE CONDITION OF THE ITEM IS NOTED AT THE TIME OF CHECK-OUT. USERS WHO RETURN AN ITEM WITH NEW MARKINGS, ADHESIVE TAPE, OR OTHER DAMAGE WILL BE CHARGED THE FULL REPLACEMENT COST PLUS A $30.00 PROCESSING FEE.
ENSEMBLE CLASS LOANS
Special arrangements can be made for semester loans of items needed for School- authorized chamber music ensembles. Please request an “Ensemble Loan” contract from the Circulation Desk. All ensemble loans must have the signed approval of a faculty sponsor and a Library staff member.
Semester loans are not renewable.
4th FLOOR OPEN SEATING STUDENT COMPUTERS
COMPUTER CLASSROOM 5D04
Only TJS faculty and staff can get an approval to book computer clasrrom 5D04. During class time all TJS students can use computers in this classroom.
For more information, please email library@tianjijuilliard.edu.cn
LIBRARY CATALOG COMPUTERS
All library users are able to search 2 catalog computers on the 4th floor of the TJS Library.
TJS LIBRARY
Welcome to the Library of The Tianjin Juilliard School.
Entrances and exits are on the 4th floor of the Library: main staircase entrance, and evevator E5 entrance. Fifth floor exits can be used only in the case of emergency. Library Emergency exit doors can be used only in the case of emergency. All unauthorized users who set off Emergency exit alarms will be required to meet with the Library director and TJS security team member.
LIBRARY ETIQUETTE
Please be mindful of your surroundings and make sure that your behavior does not interrupt others. Most students come to the library to study and do research.
Please do not:
LIBRARY MATERIAL CHECKOUT PROCEDURE
All library users entitled to check out items from the TJS Library will be assigned a barcode at the library Circulation desk. The barcode functions as a library card and it will be placed on user's TJS I.D.
Please bring all library materials you wish to check out to the Circulation desk on the 4th floor. Library materials can't be taken outside of the library without a prope check-out performed by a library employee. All PC students must have parent present who will sign a form before any materials can be checked out.
LIBRARY COLLECTION PURPOSE
The Library of the Tianjin Juilliard School offers resources for the School’s performance and research needs. The collection includes music performance and study scores, books, sound recordings, and videos.
Complementing the library’s printed materials is a rich collection of electronic resources that members of the community may access on JUILCAT Plus. These include streaming databases for audio and video, digital music scores, full-text journals, online reference sources, and selected e-book collections.
Materials circulate only to current Juilliard School students and faculty members.
Material recommendations are welcome. Please reach out to the Library Director at irena.klaic@tianjinjuilliard.edu.cn or fill out the form available on our website.
DONATIONS
The Library of the Tianjin Juilliard School accepts donations from faculty, students, and community. Due to the collection policy guidelines, shelving space, and the condition of the materials, the Library will add to the collection only materilas that meet our collection management guidance.
All donors must sign a donation form available at The Tianjin Juilliard Library. For forther questions, please email library@tianjinjuilliard.edu.cn.
ALUMNI
Alumni may use the reading rooms, but may not check out materials or use JUILCAT Plus. You must have an alumni card for identification, and schedule an appointment by emailing library@tianjinjuilliard.edu.cn at least 24 hours in advance. Please note that appointments are limited to business hours (Monday through Friday, 9 a.m. to 5 p.m.).
Applies to: All members of the Tianjin Juilliard community, including faculty, staff and students (Graduate Studies); alumni; and visiting researchers.
"To promote the Progress of Science and useful Arts, by securing for limited Times to Authors and Inventors the exclusive Right to their respective Writings and Discoveries" —U.S. Constitution, Article 1, Section 8. The Tianjin Juilliard School (“Tianjin Juilliard”) expects all members of its community to respect the rights of ownership of intellectual property by adhering to United States copyright laws. The law grants copyright holders the exclusive right to reproduce, distribute, perform, and prepare derivative works from the original work. The full text of the United States copyright law is available on the U.S. Copyright Office web site at: http://www.copyright.gov/
The law also specifies limitations on these exclusive rights under the terms of fair use, which provide exceptions to the rights of copyright holders in certain cases, allowing people to use portions of works for non-profit, academic, and other purposes provided those uses stay within certain bounds. There are four basic attributes involved in determining fair use:
the purpose or character of the use, including whether such use is of a commercial nature or is for nonprofit educational purposes; the nature of the copyrighted work; the amount and substantiality of the portion used in relation to the copyrighted work as a whole; and, the effect of the intended use upon the potential market for or value of the copyrighted work. To aid in interpretation of fair use, institutions may follow or endorse guidelines developed by scholarly and library organizations. While helpful, these guidelines are not law, and courts reviewing copyright cases many not necessarily make a ruling based on such guidelines
The Tianjin Juilliard School expects all members of its community to respect the rights of ownership of intellectual property by adhering to the applicable laws, regulations, administrative regulations, rules, circulars, and other legislative, executive or judicial explanations or normative documents of any competent authority of the People’s Republic of China ("PRC") on copyright (collectively referred to as the "PRC Copyright Laws") as well. In cases where PRC Copyright Laws impose higher standards or requirements with respect to copyright protection, PRC Copyright Laws shall apply.
For more resources and examples, please see this page.
NOTICE OF PHOTOCOPYING RESTRICTIONS
The Copyright Law of the United States (Title 17, United States Code) governs the making of photocopies or other reproductions of copyrighted materials. The person making photocopies by using school equipment and resources is liable for copyright infringement.
For more information about the copyright law, please see the librarian.