LibGuides: Vocal and Choral Music Resource Guide: Home

Photographs from the Juilliard Archives

Leontyne Price with her teacher, Florence Page Kimball, at Juilliard's commencement in June 1, 1973, when Price gave the commencement address. Photo by Whitestone Photo, courtesy of the Juilliard Archives.

Renée Fleming Master Class at Juilliard on October 20, 2009. Photo by Hiroyuki Ito, courtesy of the Juilliard Archives.

Maria Callas with Eugene Kohn during her master class at Juilliard on March 3, 1972. Photo by Beth Bergman, courtesy of the Juilliard Archives.

Barbara Martin (left) and Barbara Hendricks in the Juilliard Opera Center's premiere performance of Harold Farberman's The Losers, directed by John Houseman with choreography by Patricia Birch, March 1971. Photo by Beth Bergman, courtesy of the Juilliard Archives.

Jennie Tourel works with student in voice class; Lorraine Nubar seated, 1969. Photo by A.V. Sobolewski, courtesy of the Juilliard Archives.

New Grove Articles

Relevant articles on Grove Music Online:

Subject Headings

These are just a few examples of subject headings which vocal music is cataloged under.

Songs (High voice) with piano
Songs (Medium voice) with piano
Songs (Low voice) with piano
Song cycles
Sacred songs...
Solo cantatas...

Operas -- Scores
Operas -- Vocal scores with piano
Musicals -- Vocal scores with piano

Choruses, Secular...
Choruses, Sacred...
Oratorios...
Cantatas...
Masses...
Requiems...

Call Numbers for Browsing

Scores:
37 Songs with piano - Collections, multiple composers
38 Songs with piano - Collections, single composer
39 Songs with piano - Individual songs
40 Vocalises
41 Songs with accompaniment other than solo piano (including vocal chamber music)

44 Operas - Full scores
45 Operas - Vocal scores

46 Choral music - Full scores
47 Choral music - Vocal scores and unaccompanied

52 Hymn books
53 Carols

54 Libretti and vocal texts, including pronunciation guides (many in REF)

Books:
ML 395-400 Music literature - Vocal techniques
ML 400-401 Music literature - Dramatic music
ML 405 Music literature - Choral music
ML 410-420 Music literature - Songs
ML 421-433 Music literature - Sacred vocal music
ML 435 Music literature - Chant

MT 330-375 Music instruction - Vocal music technique

Vocal Music in Juilliard Special Collections and Archives

Philip Gossett Collection - Digital Collection
Digitized collection of 462 scores (primarily opera vocal scores) and 71 books on the subject of Italian opera whose dates of publication span the late 18th to early 20th centuries.
Jennie Tourel Collection
American mezzo-soprano Jennie Tourel was a highly regarded interpreter of French song and Italian coloratura mezzo-soprano repertory faculty and member of the Juilliard School from 1963 to 1973. The collection comprises correspondence, concert programs, newsclippings, contracts, publicity material (including posters), song translations, photographs, scrapbooks, and music scores.
Rosa and Carmela Ponselle Collection
Rosa Ponselle, an American singer generally regarded as one of the great dramatic sopranos of the 20th century, sang at the Metropolitan Opera from 1918 to 1937. Carmela Ponselle (1892-1977), Rosa's elder sister, was a mezzo-soprano who sang at the Metropolitan from 1925 to 1935.
The collection provides an overview of the their professional and personal lives, including correspondence, articles, newspaper clippings, programs, professional engagement materials, writings, photographs, a scrapbook, and music scores.
Yveta Synek Graff Collection
This collection comprises scores, librettos, sound recordings and papers related to the life and career of Czech translator, language coach, and artistic consultant Yveta Synek Graff, with an emphasis on material created in preparation for Czech language productions of operas by Antonin Dvǒrák, Leoš Janáček, and Bedřich Smetana.

Further Resource Guides

Additional LibGuides you may also be interested in:

Digital Scores - This guide contains links to digitized score collections, including both subscription-based services available through JUILCAT Plus, as well as free collections of public domain resources from libraries and archives around the world.

Resources for Repertoire: Composer Diversity - Resources from the Juilliard Library and beyond to guide in the selection of repertoire from underrepresented demographic groups.

Selected Facsimile Editions in The Juilliard Library - Juilliard’s library holds an unparalleled collection of facsimile editions of music manuscripts. Facsimile editions, or copies of manuscripts, enable performers and scholars to study a copy of the manuscript that looks very much like the original.

Request a New Item

Looking for something we don't have? Click here to request the acquisition of a new item for our collection!

Ask a Librarian

Ethan D'Ver

Email Me