Juilcat Plus : online resources: REFERENCE

American National Biography (ANB) includes biographical articles on more than 18,000 individuals in all fields. This award-winning encyclopedia was published in a 24-volume print edition in 1999. The online version is updated quarterly, and allows easy searching of the entries. Published by Oxford University Press.

Electronic version of the 17th edition of Chicago Manual of Style, fully searchable. Also includes access to the 16th edition.

FirstSearch provides access to more than 48 electronic databases, including WorldCat: The OCLC Online Union Catalog. WorldCat presently contains more than 2 billion bibliographic records, representing the holdings of more than 10,000 libraries worldwide. Other electronic databases available to The Juilliard community through FirstSearch include Worldcat Dissertation and Theses, ECO collection of scholarly journals, and ArticleFirst. See also: Worldcat Discovery - JUILCAT.

"The Garland Encyclopedia of World Music is the first comprehensive online resource devoted to music research of all the world’s peoples. More than 9,000 pages of material and 300 audio recordings, combined with entries by more than 700 expert contributors from all over the world, make this the most complete body of work focused on world music."--Publisher's website.

Electronic version of Anna Harriett Heyer's Historical Sets, Collected Editions, and Monuments of Music : an index to their Contents. Use for access to contents of historical editions found in REF 0 and 00 sections of the Library.

Includes more than 7,470 International Phonetic Alphabet (IPA) transcriptions and literal translations of opera arias and art songs.

Die Musik in Geschichte und Gegenwart (MGG) is a general encyclopedia of music: it offers in-depth articles on every aspect of music as well as many related areas such as literature, philosophy, and visual arts. MGG Online contains the second print edition of MGG, published from 1994 to 2008, as well as current, continuous online updates and additions. Although originally published in German, Google translate is available for English-language translations of articles.

On-line database of Daniels's Orchestral Music: A Handbook, providing access to information on more than 6,700 works by some 900 composers; allows searching by composer, title, keyword, instrumentation and duration.

OBO Music provides annotated bibliographies by expert scholars on composers and subjects.

The most important etymological dictionary of the English language, the OED provides definitions, history, and pronunciation of more than 500,000 words from the past and present. Published by Oxford University Press.

Full-text digital version of Richard Taruskin's monumental 5-volume history, with enhanced search and browse capabilities, as well as links to relevant articles in Grove Music Online.

Includes The Oxford Dictionary of Music, Oxford Companion to Music, and most importantly, Grove Music Online. The latter also incorporates the New Grove Dictionary of Opera, and New Grove Dictionary of Jazz. The Library houses 2 sets of the 29-volume print version of New Grove, 2d ed. in the Reference Room under call number REF ML65 .N42 2001.

This database provides access to the online versions of more than 150 Oxford University Press dictionaries in all fields: Art & Architecture, Biological Languages, Classics, Computing, Earth & Environmental Sciences, Economics & Business, Medicine, Military History, Modern Languages (French, German, Italian, Spanish), Mythology & Folklore, English Language Dictionaries & Thesauruses, English Language Reference, Food & Nutrition, General Reference, History, Performing Arts (Dance, Music, Opera, Theatre), Physical Sciences & Mathematics, Politics & Social Sciences, Quotations, Religion & Philosophy. It enables users to search for terms and topics across disciplines. Members of the Juilliard community will find it especially useful when seeking information on non-performing arts subjects. Published by Oxford University Press.

Provides full-text access to a collection of reference works published from the late 18th century to the present. Selected titles include Eileen Southern's Biographical Encyclopedia of Afro-American and African Musicians (1982), Ho and Feafanov's Biographical Dictionary of Russian Soviet Musicians (1989), Eitner's Biographisch-bibliographisches Quellen-Lexikon der Musiker und Musikgelehrten der christlichen Zeitrechnung bis zur Mitte des neunzehnten Jahrhunderts as well as the ever-expanding Komponisten der Gegenwart dictionary of twentieth and twenty-first century composers. See complete title list.

Provides online access to RISM's database of music manuscripts after 1600 (ca. 1600-1850) housed in more than 595 libraries and archives worldwide. Entries provide a complete description of the manuscript, including musical incipits.

ShakespearesWords.com is an interactive digital version of David Crystal's 2002 book, Shakespeare's Words: A Glossary and Language Companion (REF PR2892 .C889sh). The site allows searching for use of any word in Shakespeare's texts; it also allows viewing of the word or phrase in the First Folio.

The Jazz Discography is the most up-to-date general discography of all categories of recorded jazz, from 1896 to today.

A database of all dissertations and theses available in WorldCat.